130/365 – Sandalwood dragon

Since we’re hunting dragons on the TVM, I thought I’d share one I already have. 🙂

This is a carving made out of a single piece of sandalwood from Indonesia. My parents bought four (I think) carvings of dragons from a shop in Indonesia when we were there, with the idea that when we returned to Europe, they would sell them. However, they grew to love them and ended up keeping two, giving one to my uncle, and one to me. This one is completely different to the others, as it is rectangular. The others are long and slim, again carved from a single piece of wood.

Mine is a dragon fighting an eagle, or rather a Garuda fighting a naga, from what I recall, in the Buddhist religion.

It’s lost its gorgeous sandalwood smell after all these years (twenty-one years!) and I keep thinking I should get some sandalwood oil and oil it (although it’s not cracked at all over the years, which is good), but then I forget. 😀

The front of the carving

The front of the carving

The back of the carving

The back of the carving

[Taken by Heliona in her spare room/library]

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 130/365 – Sandalwood dragon

  1. torc365 says:

    Awesome!

    Calma

  2. torc365 says:

    This really is gorgeous!

    ~ ateelah

  3. torc365 says:

    That is quite gorgeous!

    Lali

  4. torc365 says:

    What a lovely carving!
    Crys

  5. torc365 says:

    Impressive! -Tooks 😀

Leave a Reply

