235/365 – Swollen battery

I can’t remember if I mentioned before, but my netbook has an internal battery. For the last few months, it has not been holding a charge (or in fact, taking one) and then the last few weeks my netbook casing has been swelling up. In the last couple of days, it got much worse, so I decided to take the case apart. I was pretty sure the location of the swelling was where the battery was, and sure enough, one end of the battery was very swollen.

So out it came! (My netbook is about four years old, and the warranty has expired (and in fact was voided when we upgraded the RAM) so it didn’t matter that we took it apart.) My netbook is now even lighter than it used to be.

I was advised to get in touch with the manufacturer to let them know about the battery malfunction and see if they would replace it (apparently there have been other cases where even though the computer is out of warranty, they will replace the battery). I took a photo to show them that I wasn’t just making it up. (As an aside, Wilko has an older version of the same netbook, and his battery is fine.)

Swollen netbook battery

Swollen netbook battery

[Taken by Heliona in her living room.]

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to 235/365 – Swollen battery

  1. torc365 says:

    Whoa…. 😯 Hope you put the battery in a container that will keep the explosion to a minimum.

    (Hey, I see Neverwinter there!! :D)

    Calma

    • torc365 says:

      I’m not sure it’s going to explode. It seems to have stopped expanding because it’s not getting hot any more. I’m just waiting for a response from the manufacturers before deciding what to do with it!

      And yes, that’s an older version of NWN (with discs). 🙂 I’ve got the Diamond Edition from GOG. 🙂

      Heliona

  2. torc365 says:

    I’ve never seen that before and we have 4 laptops!

  3. torc365 says:

    That happened to my son’s phone. Amazingly, it was four days *before* the warranty expired, so he got both the phone and the battery replaced. It’s kinda creepy to look at that swollen battery!
    Frelga

  4. torc365 says:

    That’s crazy! Yikes!

    Lali

  5. slkern says:

    Hope you are able to get it traded in. Dangerous looking, that! 😮
    Crys

Leave a Reply

