252/365: On the Town

I’m sorry I missed last week. Internet issues yet again, but I think that might be over now. We switched providers and all has been well since then! 🙂 Yay!

Anyway, Friday night I went out with a group of girlfriends to the Oregon District, which is in downtown Dayton. It was…interesting. We had a lady who kept wandering up and down the street, dancing. The hostess said she was doing performing art. Our waiter said she was just crazy. Maybe it was both. A homeless man in a wheelchair counted us all as he went by and then proclaimed, “8 lovely drops of heaven fallen down to earth!” 🙂

lily's bistro

Dayton doesn’t have a great vibe like some of the nicer cities, but it does try. In any case, our food was good, if a bit pretentious, and I enjoyed my so-called “Hemingway” daiquiri. (This is in spite of the fact that I do not like Hemingway one bit. 😉 And I’m not sure what the daiquiri had to do with him anyway. Is he famous for grapefruit juice? White rum?)

bistro 2

(Conveniently located next to train tracks for ease of conversation. LOL.)

bistro

As we stood outside the front door of the restaurant at the end of the night, we were approached by a woman who was walking around with a group of men. She wondered if we wanted to join the men as they explored the Oregon District. They wanted to buy us drinks and the like. Apparently, they were German and Russian men in town for the Hackers’ Convention.

Um, we passed on this opportunity. It was kind of flattering, though, I will admit. It seemed a little sketchy, however.

And then the next day I went back to being the world’s worst soccer mom:

sarah soccer

(I like watching my daughter play, but I do not like much else about the experience. I don’t want to socialize with people I don’t know. I don’t love sitting outside doing nothing but watching the game. I wanted to be up and around, getting some exercise in or doing something. I wanted to put a muzzle on my mother who was driving me crazy that day. So yeah, I’m the worst soccer mom ever.)

~ Lali, Sugarcreek Township, Ohio

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to 252/365: On the Town

  1. slkern says:

    Lali, you are a stitch! 😀 And the fellow in the wheelchair was spot on too 😉
    Crys

  2. torc365 says:

    Lali I love hearing about your adventures in life. I think I would have been scared out of my socks with an invite like that with out of town men. Sheesh, you don’t know what they had in mind. Could be innocent but that is weird. I would enjoy the nutty dancer and the man in the wheel chair. They sound like part of the quaint life about there.

    Vana

  3. torc365 says:

    Such an adventure!

    Calma

  4. celebalqua says:

    What a great adventure, it is always a good night if you come home with a story! As for soccer, I do knitting when I am watching my son play cricket.

  5. torc365 says:

    Not the worst soccer mom, trust me! My daughter used to play soccer so I’ve been in your shoes and know exactly how you feel. I’ve seen some of the worst soccer moms (my husband also coached) and you are definitely not one of them.

    Sounds like quite an adventure in Dayton! (In 1921 Contstanino Ribailagua, of El Floridita in Havana, created this variation – with grapefruit juice – in honor of his Daiquiri-loving regular.) 😉

    ~ ateelah

Leave a Reply

