259/365: Everyday Life

I’ve been battling an infected wound on my leg for a few days (and then an allergic reaction to the antibiotic), so I’m afraid my pics aren’t of a nature-ish variety this time around. (I had a skin growth taken off; it was nothing, but the wound decided to be difficult.) Anyway, I did snap this one today as I was waiting in traffic in nearby Centerville, Ohio–the place where we lived for about 12 years. Centerville has the state’s largest collection of early stone buildings. It says so right on the sign as you enter town, along with “Welcome to Warm, Cheerful Centerville!” This isn’t even one of the nicer ones, but it’s what I had available at the time.

centerville

And then on Friday, a utility truck ran off the road and struck a telephone/electric pole. This was just a few houses down. (The driver was not injured. The same could not be said for our power supply.)

downed line

So our road was closed for about 9 hours. We all had places to be that night, of course, so we had to drive to the barriers, stop the car, get out, move the barriers, drive forward, get out, and put the barriers back–all the while getting odd looks from other drivers and the occasional question or two. This is looking down the other way from my house.

road closed

But thank goodness for smartphones because here I am emailing by candlelight. πŸ™‚

emailing by candleight

I don’t figure any of you really want to see the picture of the infected wound. πŸ˜€ But I could show you if you want…. πŸ˜›

~Lali, Sugarcreek Township, Ohio

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 259/365: Everyday Life

  1. torc365 says:

    I’ll pass on that leg wound, Lali. However, I’ll have another gander at that candle. Totally LOVE that glass. Hope your leg heals well and quickly.

    Calma

  2. slkern says:

    Lovely (especially the last picture- I am back in love with candlelight again πŸ˜‰ ) Ohio seems to have so many charming places. Reminds me of my childhood home. πŸ™‚
    Crys

  3. torc365 says:

    The quaint views are lovely! I would dearly love to visit this area sometime. Love and I mean love, the candle picture! I do hope your leg heals soon. {{HUGS}}

    Vana

  4. celebalqua says:

    The old building is quite lovely, what are they like inside, are they plastered or is the brick work visible inside too?
    Hope the leg heals up soon
    Cel

    • torc365 says:

      Some are plastered and some have the stone work visible. I should venture into Centerville and take some photos of some of the other buildings. They are very quaint, and they’ve attempted to make the “downtown” area look authentic, even if it’s a new Panera or something like that.

      Lali

Leave a Reply

