266/365: Fall Is Here

This is probably the loveliest time of year in Ohio. We’re not anywhere near peak color yet, but there are changes going on here and there. This is the soybean field across the street from my house. (It’s not a great picture; it’d be better at sunset.)

soybeans at sunrise

So I pulled over to the side of the road this afternoon to take pics of another soybean field that is a little further along.

soybean field

soybean fencepost

This was the view in my backyard this morning at sunrise. It was quite lovely, if rather chilly (45F).

sunrise our yard

(Hopefully my neighbors didn’t see me standing on our deck in my bathrobe. I also hope they didn’t see me chase after our naughty cat who decided to make a run for it. 😡 )

And then this is what I did Saturday. Wright-Patterson Air Force Base (home of the Air Force Museum!) is about 15 minutes from my house. Every year they have a marathon. I’ve done the half in previous years, but this year I just did the 10K. I wasn’t sure I’d be able to do it at all, even as late as Thursday, due to my leg issues. Thankfully, I was feeling better enough by Friday/Saturday to give it a go. I did have some pain, but I also somehow managed to set a new personal record. (I only ran a tiny bit of the race, though. I’d wanted to run more of it.)

Pre-Race, butt-crack of dawn*:

pre race

I have on the gold hat. My husband is in the kilt. The tartan is the law enforcement tartan, and he’s wearing a Thin Blue Line t-shirt. He runs in honor of fallen officers. (He’s a police officer.) My best friend is next to him, and the lady on the end is a good friend from church.

*Not exaggerating. I got up at 4am. We left the house by 5:30am. The race started at 7:30am. :-\

Post-race:

post race

This is all of us who did the 10K. The tallest lady is another good friend from church. So it was a nice day, rather hot, though, and that slowed down many of the other racers. (Our race was short enough that we were done before it got too hot.) We did stand around for several hours cheering for people while we waited for the other people in our group to get done. Our pastor and another guy were doing the full, and my husband was doing the half. At one point in the race, those of us doing the 10K passed those doing the half. I spotted my husband (not that hard to do in a kilt!), and we ran across the median to each other and kissed. 🙂 People cheered, and then my husband yelled out, “I have no idea who that woman was!”

He’s such a turkey. 😀

~Lali, Sugarcreek Township, Ohio

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 266/365: Fall Is Here

  1. torc365 says:

    Nice pictures. Loved the sunrise best. 😀
    Cool on all of ya for doing the race!

    Calma

  2. torc365 says:

    Love the one with the sun shining through the trees. Good pixs.

    Sable

  3. torc365 says:

    Thanks, everyone! 🙂

    Lali

  4. torc365 says:

    Nice pics! Congratulations on the 10K, it’s way more than I could manage.

    ~ ateelah

  5. slkern says:

    Your back yard is enviable Lali! And you’ve got that ‘girl pose’ down too 😉 Way to go you!
    Crys

Leave a Reply

