271/365 – Another Local Drive

Yesterday we took a short drive up by the lake and down to the coast. Lake Casitas is a frequent subject for me. I’ve taken many, many pictures from the same spot over the years. This year has been tough because the lake is the lowest I’ve ever seen.
Lake Casitas 09-27-14

We drove over the pass and down to Rincon Beach Park. The wind was super strong and the water below was very choppy. There are often people sitting on the benches overlooking the Santa Barbara Channel but not yesterday, the wind was just too much.
Overlook

On our way back home we drove along the Rincon, which is a part of the coast in Ventura County. I noticed some dark shapes in the water and suddenly saw three dolphins surfing in the choppy waves near the beach. I asked Mr. Ateelah to pull over immediately. Unfortunately, there was no repeat performance but I took a few pictures anyway. While processing the images I took yesterday, I noticed a couple of dark shapes near the upper left hand corner of one of the photos. You can barely see them but there are definitely two dolphins making their way south.
Phantoms

~ ateelah
Ventura, California

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 271/365 – Another Local Drive

  1. slkern says:

    Wonderful pictures ateelah! I can almost feel that stiff breeze! Gorgeous shots 🙂
    Crys

  2. torc365 says:

    Great views! And after I clicked on your picture and enlarged it, I saw the Dolphins.

    Calma

  3. celebalqua says:

    Lovely shot

  4. torc365 says:

    I saw the dolphins! Great photos. 🙂

    Heliona

  5. torc365 says:

    Thank you so much! I’m glad some of you were able to see the dolphins. I wish I had gotten pictures of them surfing. Maybe next time.

    ~ ateelah

Leave a Reply

