321/365 – I received my Award of Arms finally!

This past Saturday we had our Harvest Feast event for the Shire of Midhaven and Ryan (Rodri Glynglas) was the event steward! We had great fun, food and some of us even got awards that others have nominated us for. My Award of Arms is the first Award many earn for loyalty and activity in the SCA. I have been working hard to get this by being the Chirurgeon for the Shire, helping with set up and taking down at events, working gate to help folks get onto a site, being active in my Shire. The AOA means that I can use Lady in my title when people talk to me or address me. So now I am Lady Keina verch Wilim ap Eynon. (Or Keina daughter of William son of Eynon)

Of course I was so surprised and cried the entire time that I was before the King and Queen. But it was remarkable to be recognized by Royalty who were our guests at the event.

Vana before the King and Queen at Harvest Fiest 2014AVana accepting her AOA at Harvest Fiest 2014Vana hugging the King at Harvest Fiest 2014

I was not the only one recognized by the King and Queen but I was probably the most surprised. It made for a great evening and the Award now hangs on the wall in my computer room next to Ryan’s AOA award!

Vana

Photos taken at Hillcrest Lodge in Mount Vernon, WA.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 321/365 – I received my Award of Arms finally!

  1. torc365 says:

    Congratulations, m’Lady.
    Calma

  2. torc365 says:

    Congrats, I remember when I got mine. I was shocked too. I had no idea I was even nominated. So I completely understand your feelings.

    Sable (aka Lady Muirghael)

  3. torc365 says:

    Congratulations, Milady!

    Lali

Leave a Reply

