343/365: Christmas Sparkles

(I know I’m sneaking this in a day late. Shhh.)

I must admit that I haven’t been in the Christmas spirit very much. I love what Christmas is all about; however, I seriously dislike the pressure of buying gifts and all of that. It’s not that I’m ungenerous; I like giving things and attempting to make people happy. I just feel overwhelmed with the expectations to get it all perfect! Ugh. And I really hate shopping. Really hate it. I try to do as much online as I can, but then I also try to buy fair trade and shop small businesses. And anyway, bleah. It’s overwhelming for someone with my personality.

Now add into that my injured hand, and I couldn’t even decorate my own Christmas tree the way I wanted to. (I am not particular about a lot of things, but I am very particular about the lights on my tree. My husband and I have spent years fighting over this every Christmas till he let me take it over completely. About 15 light strands and many hours later, I was as happy as could be. This year, however, he had to do it again. And, well, these pictures are to remind me that I should be grateful it got done at all.)

😀

20141210_103547

20141210_103600

20141210_103748

(A picture from another year–this is the harp that Alatar sent me. I love it!)

IMG_0454

To me, this is what Christmas is about, the birth of Christ, and I wish I could make myself focus on this more.

IMG_6498

~ Lali (Sugarcreek Township, Ohio)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 343/365: Christmas Sparkles

  1. torc365 says:

    It looks nice. Love the harp!
    Calma

  2. slkern says:

    And beautiful pictures they are! Funny, we were just discussing this subject this very morning (my English Conversation ladies and I) about Christmas traditions and how they feel more stress than joy of the season. One even commented on the fond childhood memories and wondered if her mom actually felt stressed way back when too! Time to cut back and simplify. It’s not about the gifts but The Gift; not about how I can make the holiday perfect but allow this special celebration to transform me. The other gimmicks and gadgets will come and go with the seasons and trends. What remains- Good news, glad tidings of Joy. Still trying to wrap my head around this this season as well 😉 (((HUGS))) Lali, I sure hope that hand of yours heals up real nice.
    Crys

  3. torc365 says:

    oOOO. Very lovely photos. Festive! -Tooks

  4. torc365 says:

    Beautiful lights! I hope the rest of the holidays are less stressful.

    ~ ateelah

  5. torc365 says:

    Very pretty! Love this and the colors.

    Vana

Leave a Reply

