45/365 – Valentine’s Dinner

So, I decided to make a Valentine’s dinner instead of us going out, because, well, for starters, it’s cheaper. 😀 Normally, I just cook a steak, but I got inspiration from someone at work, who’s a great cook and was making a Michelin-starred meal for her boyfriend. I managed to come up with a three course meal that sounded do-able and interesting.

To prove that I’d done it, I took photos!

The starter:

Starter: Garlic, lime and parsley prawns on a bed of baby leaf salad

Starter: Garlic, lime and parsley prawns on a bed of baby leaf salad

The main course:

Main: Fillet steak with a creamy mushroom sauce, mustard mash, roasted carrots, and spinach with lardons and pinenuts.

Main: Fillet steak with a creamy mushroom sauce, mustard mash, roasted carrots, and spinach with lardons and pinenuts.

The dessert (I didn’t make this one):

Dessert: Scottish raspberry and pistachio semi-freddo garnished with fresh mint.

Dessert: Scottish raspberry and pistachio semi-freddo garnished with fresh mint.

It all turned out rather nicely, although I did put a bit too much mustard into the mustard mash. But the mushroom sauce, which I’d never made from scratch before, was lovely. The only thing I didn’t make was the dessert. So it was a success (although I did use almost every pan in the kitchen 😀 ).

[Taken by Heliona in her kitchen, North Yorkshire.]

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 45/365 – Valentine’s Dinner

  1. torc365 says:

    Good job! Looks yummy!

    Calma

  2. torc365 says:

    A very appetising presentation! I hope you both enjoyed it and lingered over the experience. –Imp/Novice (Melb. Aus)

  3. torc365 says:

    Lovely! Have you seen Hundred-Foot Journey? That’s not a typical movie for me to watch, but we watched it recently at a ladies’ night out event.

    Lali

Leave a Reply

