48/365 Birds and Squirrels

This past weekend was the Great Backyard Bird Count. Here is one of the four bluebirds I counted:

 photo 100_9897BBB_zps732ff254.jpg

He looks a bit peeved about the cold weather. They came to drink but didn’t eat any of the suet treats I had out by the water, so they must be finding something to eat somewhere.

They weren’t included in the final tally, but I also counted 11 gray squirrels. 11.
As you can see they like to eat their corn on the cob in the trees:

 photo 100_9889BBBB_zpsed49ed1f.jpg

-Tooks in Southcentral PA

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 48/365 Birds and Squirrels

  1. torc365 says:

    I throw out the food and in minutes it’s gone. Squirrels, blue jays, pigeons, you name it, they come ’round for their breakfast then back in the evening for a snack of peanuts.

    Love the squirrel in the tree. I think if the ground was covered in snow, I’d sit in a tree so my tush wouldn’t get frostbite. 😉

    Calma

  2. torc365 says:

    I did the GBBC, too. I didn’t have any bluebirds, though. However, our red-shouldered hawks are hanging around a lot now and were calling to each other one morning. That made me happy! I think they’ll nest again in our neighbor’s yard or maybe ours.

    Lali

  3. torc365 says:

    They are just too cute! How do such tony things keep body and soul together in such cold? – Novice/Imp

Leave a Reply

