71/365: Life and (Near) Death

Yesterday was a gorgeous, warm spring day! Ahhhhh! I can’t tell you how amazing that felt! (I’m sure Tooks knows and any of the rest of us in colder climes.)

So Sarah and I took a hike at the nature area across the street. Here’s a straggly, puny dandelion, but, by golly, it’s a flower!!!!

first dandelion

And here’s my salamander pond! I went out Tuesday night (in the rain and dense fog) to see if anyone was out and about yet. No luck, but I’m heading out again tonight. These are mole salamanders, and it’s nearly mating time. So I should be seeing some soon. When I do, I’ll report back to the naturalist, and they’ll have a big program open to the public. Since I live just across the street, it’s convenient for me to do nightly checks on them. It’s kind of cool (and occasionally unnerving) to hike into the park at night.

pond 2

Yes, there’s still ice on the pond. I’ll bet it’ll be mostly gone tonight, though.

pond 3

That was the LIFE portion of the post. Now, the NEAR DEATH portion is this!

tree fall 2

tree fall1

I was heading out the back door to hang up laundry when this tree fell! 😮 I think if I’d been out there already hanging up laundry it would’ve missed me, but it would’ve been very close. 😦 So I’m glad I left my muck boots in my car and was delayed in grabbing them to go outside.

~ Lali (Sugarcreek Township, Ohio)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 71/365: Life and (Near) Death

  1. torc365 says:

    Whoa…. 😯 talk about a close call.
    Love the pond.

    Calma

  2. torc365 says:

    Did you hear a voice that said “Drat! Missed her!” ?

    Jude

Leave a Reply

