76/365: St. Patrick’s Day & Salamanders

I’ve been searching for salamanders since early last week. They finally started to move Saturday, so I helped out with a naturalist program Saturday night.

Here’s a large male. (We actually saw this one Monday night. I had a St. Patrick’s Day party at my house for the church small group that meets here, my parents, and another friend. Anyway, part of the festivities included a trek over to the park in the dark to see what we could see.)

salamander

That’s a mole salamander; they spend the year underground but come out around this time of year to mate. (He’s making his way to the vernal pool.)

This is a very large crayfish (from Saturday night)!

crayfish

And, somehow, I fit about 15 people in my living room and 9 people (mostly kids) in my dining room. Monday (not technically St. Patrick’s Day, I know) was gorgeous here! It was about 70F and sunny!

st patricks day setup2

And flowers from my thoughtful friend!

flowers2

~Lali (Sugarcreek Township, Ohio)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 76/365: St. Patrick’s Day & Salamanders

  1. torc365 says:

    Looks very festive and fun, Lali.
    -Novice/Imp

Leave a Reply

