205/365….Same Fountain…2 Views….

The corner of Burwell and Pacific in Bremerton, Washington. At one time it held Woolworth’s Department store. I LOVED that store. So sorry it closed. After 9/11, the Shipyard traded us some land because where Woolworth’s and other business were, was right up against the the Shipyard and it was very easy access to those who might try to do bad things there. So, down went all the buildings and up popped a park, so to speak. Below you see two views of the same fountain at the top of Burwell and Pacific.

 photo Lunch001_zps84f4e0ae-1.jpg

The statue you see on the left is a tribute to the women who came to work in the shipyard in WWII

 photo Lunch002_zps7a17fb07-1.jpg

Calma
Bremerton, Washington, USA

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 205/365….Same Fountain…2 Views….

  1. Kate says:

    Ooooooh, how fun! I love fountains. I would sit by this one and drink coffee and write. Well, I’d try to write. šŸ˜‰

  2. torc365 says:

    I remember those stores. My aunt use to work at Kresses that was near there.

    Sable

  3. torc365 says:

    Woolworths!! Loved them too. -Tooks

  4. torc365 says:

    Yes- Woolworths, one of the few stores I could afford to buy things at as a kid. Lovely park and city planning. I think I’ll join Sil with a cup on the bench šŸ˜‰
    Crys

Leave a comment